Image

BEST ALBUMS OF 2011!*

*According to me.

If you were to ask me how I felt about this past year as whole, I’d probably say, “Uh…um…hmm….Uhhhhh….”  And then you’d say, “Use your words, Matt.”  And I’d reply, “Well, it’s complicated buuuut…..If I had to sum up how I felt in one word, it would be ‘grateful’.”  Very grateful, indeed.  Grateful for the opportunity to tour the country and see wonderful places I never thought I’d see (like Surprise, AZ which lived up to its nominal reputation); grateful that I released two records (one of my own, the other with friends – Tony Lucca and Jay Nash); grateful for the people I’ve worked with and continue to work with; grateful for good health at the end of the year; grateful for the love of family, friends, and cat; grateful even for mistakes and poor decisions that ultimately teach us a great deal.  

And, of course, I can’t forget to thank all of you who continue to support me in my artistic efforts, buy records, come out to shows, speak up through social networking, and tolerate my misguided attempts at creating video updates that are usually very (what’s the word?) weird.  So thanks, everyone!  And now ENOUGH ABOUT THAT!  Below are my picks for Top 10 Albums of the year.  My number 1 may surprise you, but if you listen to what I considered to be the single of the year – “Surgeon” – it just might make more sense.  Happy Holidays, all!

Top 10 Albums of 2011:

1. Strange Mercy – St. Vincent

2. 21 – Adele

3. Bon Iver – Bon Iver

4. James Blake – James Blake

5. The Hunter – Mastodon

6. A Creature I Don’t Know – Laura Marling

7. Wasting Light – Foo Fighters

8. New Blood – Peter Gabriel

9. Barton Hollow – The Civil Wars

10. Ghost Town – Owen

Leave a Reply

